Pessach, 1 week vacations, “new” job, plans? / Pessach, 1 semana de folga, trabalho “novo”, planos?

I am writing 2 weeks after the last post.

My first objective when I decided to come to Israel was to travel and work at the same time, to do something related to my field of study, Agronomy. For that, a kibbutz sounded perfect, since it’s a rural area with a lot of agricultural jobs. Most of our group is working with agriculture activities. Max is working with fishes, Mari and Toni are working with gardening, Stefanie is working with dairy cows and equines and I am working with organic farming again. Rachel, Vanessa and Aviv are working in the dining room and Raphi is working with elderly nowadays if I recall correctly. So 5/9 of us are working with agricultural jobs, which means most of the group, or 55% =P

Yes, I am working with organic farming again. I wanted to do it since I came to Kfar Masaryk, but transportation was an issue. Now it’s fine, I have made a deal with Tamir, I will be working there 3 times a week, 8 hours a day – the volunteers of this program are required to work 24h a week -, I will be paying for the transportation and in the end of the month he will pay everything back. Perfecto!

Right now the farm has cucumber, eggplants, watermelon and squash jam. I will be working there on Sundays and Wednesdays, important pick up and delivery days. And the 3rd day of work will be on Mondays I guess. I will be working on these 3 days + Ulpan on Tuesday, it leaves Thursday to Saturday as a weekend.

This past Wednesday and Thursday, the Oranim groups went to the Golan Heights for hiking and kayaking. Both activities were awesome, too bad it did not last longer, specially kayaking.

The landscape of Golan Heights is beautiful and the trails are good for hiking. Pictures available on Facebook.

The kayaking activity was something, since I am afraid of water. I know how to swim, but as I depend on hearing aids and cochlear implant to understand every language except for Portuguese, and as those machines and humidity do not get along well, I try to avoid watery environments as much as possible.

So I had to take them off. I am happy that Gaby stood by my side and was patient to repeat everything important that the kayak guide said. Not only that, she asked me to be one of the rowers in our kayak. It was easier than I thought and so much fun! Thanks a lot, Gaby!

And this week is Pessach, we are on vacations here. Some people from the group will be spending their time with their family/relatives in Israel, while others will be touring around. I belong to the second group, so far I have scheduled a trip to Jerusalem on Wednesday to Friday (April 20-22th).

As for Pessach’s seder, I will be having it on the kibbutz. Vanessa, Toni and I worked on the dining room yesterday to help with the food preparation for today. Since I know which food will be served beforehand, I know it will be a nice meal.

Regarding plans, I want to organize myself to find nice places to visit each Thursday, since I will have a 3 days weekend. If you that are reading it know any cool place worth to be visited in Israel, located in the North preferably, tell me please!

And I want to make plans for the post-program too, it would be in the beginning of August. I would like to visit countries in the East hemisphere in which I have friends so that it will be more fun to walk around and get acquainted with the place. So far I have set Germany as a goal. If you live in this side of the planet, are you available in this date and do you accept visitors? Let me know and it might be arranged 🙂

——-

Tô escrevendo 2 semanas depois do meu último post.

Meu objetivo inicial quando decidi vir para Israel era viajar e trabalhar ao mesmo tempo, fazer algo relacionado ao meu campo de trabalho, Agronomia. Para isso, vir para um kibbutz me pareceu a ideia perfeita, já que é uma área rural com muita atividade na agricultura. A maioria do grupo tá trabalhando com agricultura, na verdade. O Max tá trabalhando com peixes, a Mari e a Toni tão trabalhando com jardinagem, a Stefanie tá trabalhando com gado leiteiro e equinos e eu tô de volta na fazenda orgânica. A Rachel, a Vanessa e o Aviv tão trabalhando no refeitório e a Raphi com os idosos, eu acho. Então 5/9 de nós estão trabalhando com agricultura, o que significa a maioria do grupo ou 55% =P

Sim, tô trabalhando na fazenda orgânica de novo. Eu queria fazer isso desde que vim pra Kfar Masaryk, mas o transporte era um empecilho. Agora tá tudo certo, fiz um trato com o Tamir, vou trabalhar lá 3 vezes por semana, 8 horas por dia – os voluntários do programa precisam trabalhar 24h por semana -, eu pago pelo transporte e no fim do mês ele me paga tudo de volta. Perfeito!

Agora na fazenda tem pepino, berinjela, melancia e squash jam (?). Vou trabalhar lá nos domingos e 4as-feiras, dias importantes para a colheita e entrega de mercadorias. E o 3o dia de trabalho vai ser nas 2as. Vou trabalhar nesses 3 dias + Ulpan nas 3as-feiras, isso me deixa um trim de semana – 5a, 6a e sábado.

Essa 4a e 5a passada, os grupos do Oranim foram para as colinas do Golan para caminhada ecológica e caiaque. As duas atividades foram uma delícia, uma pena que não tenham durado mais tempo, especialmente o caiaque.

A paisagem do Golan é linda e as trilhas são boas pra caminhada. Fotos no Facebook.

O caiaque foi uma baita experiência, já que eu não sou muito chegado em água. Sei nadar, mas como dependo do aparelho auditivo e implante coclear para entender qualquer língua que não seja português, e como esses aparatos não se dão bem com umidade, eu evito ambientes molhados tanto quanto possível.

Então fui sem os aparelhos. Fiquei bem feliz que a Gaby ficou no meu lado e foi paciente para repetir tudo que era importante que saía da boca do instrutor. Não só isso, ela me pediu para ser um dos remadores do barco. Foi mais fácil que eu pensei e muito divertido! Muito obrigado, Gaby!

E essa semana é Pessach, tamos de férias por aqui. Alguns do grupo vão passar um tempo com suas famílias/parentes aqui em Israel, enquanto outros vão fazer turismo por aí. Eu faço parte do segundo grupo, já marquei uma viagem pra Jerusalem de 4a até 6a (20 a 22 de abril).

Quanto ao seder de Pessach, vou comemorar aqui no kibbutz. A Vanessa, a Toni e eu trabalhamos na preparação de comida no refeitório ontem. Já conheço a comida que vai ser servida, vai ser uma boa janta.

Planos. Tenho que me organizar para fazer viagens internas em Israel nas 5as-feiras, já que tenho 3 dias de final de semana. Tu que tá lendo aí, se conheces algum lugar que valha a pena ser visitado aqui, de preferência no norte, avisa por favor!

E quero fazer planos pra depois do término do programa também, isso seria no início de agosto. Eu gostaria de visitar países desse lado do planeta onde eu tenha amigos, tornando mais prazerosa a viagem. Por enquanto a Alemanha é um dos lugares que pretendo ir. Se alguém que estiver lendo estiver por esses lados do mundo nessa data, disponível para visitações, avisa que de repente podemos combinar algo 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pessach, 1 week vacations, “new” job, plans? / Pessach, 1 semana de folga, trabalho “novo”, planos?

  1. Anita Libel says:

    Oi Gui!
    Sou amiga da tua avó Anna e tenho acompanhado tuas crônicas com muito interesse.
    Tenho uma filha que mora a 23 anos em Israel.
    Tenho uma sugestão de passeio que fiz aí.
    Visitar a cabeceira do rio Dan, um dos afluentes do rio Jordão.Tem uma caminhada muito legal e também tem lugar para rafting.
    Um abraço, Anita

  2. elisa says:

    I think Germany will be a joy for you.

Leave a Reply

